Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Geezer

New i7-5960X 8-core reviews are out--thoughts?

• Topic Author
  • Yes, I've been waiting for this one. Why? It's time to do my first custom build.... So, first, I've included some links for reviews on the 5960x, as well as specs for my soon-to-be build. Of course I would like your input.I am a hobbyist, but spend a lot of time with Cinema. Current system is an off-the-shelf Dell XPS i7-4770, etc. It's been fine, but am looking to custom build (should have done that last year instead of buying the Dell...) 

At any rate, here it goes...

Reviews: 

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/intel-core-i7-5960x-haswell-e-cpu,3918.html

http://techreport.com/review/26977/intel-core-i7-5960x-processor-reviewed

My build list:

CPU: i7-5960X

Mobo: ASRock X99 Extreme 3 ATX

RAM: 32 GB DDR4

Storage: 240GB SSD, 2TB Western Digital 

GPU: GTX 780 6GB

Case: Corsair 760T ATX Full Tower

PSU: 860W

Cooling: Corsair 77.0 CFM liquid

My budget is US$3500-ish, and this comes out to around $3,300. Anything that I should tweak?

Thankee.

Needs more cores!

Seriously though, I wish there was a 10 core option. The performance gains offered by the 8 core aren't significant enough over my existing 3930k OC system to invest in (and I've had that system for 3 years or so). Maybe I should just get a dual xeon box and have done with it. 

• Topic Author
  • My main concern is not getting suckered into hype, which is why I posted. However...Cinebench scores (according to one of the reviews) were nearly double what I currently have (i7-4770.) I really regret buying an off-the-shelf Dell last year. I want to build a custom that actually lasts a few years....