Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

bpotstra

Rendering feedback, please

• Topic Author
  • Hi all, I've been working on rendering a product I designed, and trying out many different materials and render settings.

Please have a look at my attached rendering and let me know if anything stands out or what can be improved. 

I'm really new to this, so please any feedback would be most appreciated, thanks!!

pulse-3-knobs-dof.png

Looks good to me, only thing I'd point out is it looks too perfect some slight wear/inperfections would go along way to making it look more realistic 

Yeah there's not much wrong with that... Are the buttons really that smooth and textureless ?

I like factory-direct renderings, but Vector is right about wear & tear adding realism, even if it's really subtle.

• Topic Author
  • Thanks @Vector and @cerbera! Good point about some wear and tear... my only question is would I do that in C4D? Or post w/ Photoshop?

I only ask because this render (800x600) already took 9.5 hours on a current and top of the line MacBook Pro. I suppose this is normal though? Or am I doing it wrong?

Again, thanks for the replies and thanks for the compliments as well.

Good god  man !:ohmy: 9/5 hours for an 800 x 600 ??! I'd have a look at some render optimisation  while you're adding W&T in photoshop !!

What were your render settings, just out of interest ?

2 hours ago, bpotstra said:

Thanks @Vector and @cerbera! Good point about some wear and tear... my only question is would I do that in C4D? Or post w/ Photoshop?

I only ask because this render (800x600) already took 9.5 hours on a current and top of the line MacBook Pro. I suppose this is normal though? Or am I doing it wrong?

Again, thanks for the replies and thanks for the compliments as well.