Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

Guest TeamZissou

Best practice for first model

Guest TeamZissou
  • Topic Author
  • Hi All,

I'm very new to the world of C4D and I'm looking for some advice on how to tackle this model.

I have followed a bunch of different 'intro to modelling tools' tutorials and have completed a few others where I've actually ended up with a completed model but now I want to challenge myself and create something from scratch without following along with a guide.

I have chosen to create one of these panels from 2001: A Space Odyssey and then throw it in a cloner to create the scene. I just wanted your opinions on how would be best to approach eating the model.

Currently I can think of 3 ways:

1 - Work with a single object, a plane for example, subdivide this as necessary and extrude each 

2 - Draw it all with the spline tool and then extrude

3 - Use a combination of the above and create individual objects for each element

Also would I be correct in thinking that creating triangles is generally a bad idea? If so how would you go about tackling the triangular indents in each corner?

Thanks in advance!

2001so.jpg

I prefer polygonal modelling , and maybe with some splines a guid for the snapping . the polygon pen will be your best tool (also you can use the sculpting tools in normal modelling ).

and yes , triangles are not good , especially with subdivision surface .

you can search for "3d kiwi" tutorials , he have some great tutorials .