Guest bbka

Odd rig behaviour with separate objects

Guest bbka

After many hours of tutorials I have started to rig a cartoon character I'm working on. This is my first time rigging anything, so I hope I am just being a noob, but here goes...

My aim is to get the wings into a specified pose hence the rig (also, it's good to learn!). 

I've set up an IK rig for the wings like this. I put in separate bones for each larger feather, and they are parented under the main 'arm' joints in the hierarchy.

rig.thumb.JPG.f0a220b0385ab118f14419e9ec04f5f4.JPG

hirearchy.thumb.JPG.9452f25b32a06da9d6bbcde00c8981bb.JPG

My problem is that when I move the Goal (which is at the tip of the 'arm' part of the wing), the feather polys don't stay attached to the arm.

weight.thumb.JPG.35ec955c4ae3a8e52d3581233e4c6893.JPG

moved.JPG

Is this an axis issue? Or do I need to connect the feather polys to the arm? Thing is, if I do that, it will become tricky to paint the weight map, as I have already done that, for each feather, and I'd prefer to keep them as a separate object - but is that possible at all?

Wow - if this is your first go at rigging, you sure picked a hard thing to start with ! :)

Wing rigging is particularly tricky, and I would be here all night trying to explain to you how to do it... fortunately, Pluralsight have got you covered, and here's a whole video series on how to build and rig a wing properly - well worth the cost of signing up for a month.

CBR

• Like 1

12 minutes ago, Cerbera said:

That looks especially valuable, Dan - might buy that one myself !! :)

I have a membership with cmifx so if you want me to check out any specifics about it pm me.

Dan

8 minutes ago, Rectro said:

I have a membership with cmifx so if you want me to check out any specifics about it pm me.

Thanks dude - will do, but their description is unusually thorough :) I am impressed that they can cover all that info in 2 and a half hours !