Sign in to follow this  
eugeman

.igs file into cinema 4d

Hello,

I am creating a 20s opening animation for a conference. I need to create some close up 'hero' moves on a company trophy.

It's meant to be chrome metal, reflecting purple and red colours in the surface, with a black background.

I am very new to cinema 4d. But thought this was a good starter project, and there is a deadline! 4 weeks time.

I have been supplied with a .igs file (Im guessing from some CAD program) - attached to this message.

It does import in C4d, but I'm not sure if I should use this file or remodel the rocket from scratch myself, bearing in mind I have to texture it with a reflective chrome material.

Will using this imported model slow down my render times?

Also, a quick hardware question. I'm working on a mid 2012 retina mac with C4d R16.

I am concerned I am going to run into crazy render times - any advice on this?

Many thanks in adv!

trophy_-_revised_spokes_03_01.11.IGS

Well, like most Solidworks imports, it's certainly a hideous model in terms of topology, but really the only question to ask is 'does it render OK' ? Unfortunately, the answer in this case is 'no it doesn't'. More positively, it is a relatively easy thing to make from scratch if you know what you're doing, modelling-wise.

10 hours ago, eugeman said:

Will using this imported model slow down my render times?

No, or not so much as to be noticeable. But you still can't use it unless you can find a way to eliminate those shading errors. Sometimes removing the normal tags solves these things, but not in your case.

Once you have modelled it again, chrome, assuming it's not blurry, is actually a very quick thing to render, and you will save even more time if you disable the color channel entirely.

CBR

• Like 1

• Topic Author